Les voix d’Europe de l’Est


Meagan Milatz, piano
Isabella D’Éloize Perron, violin


The sounds of Eastern Europe are introduced by the brooding voice of the violin which opens Rachmaninoff’s “Deux morceaux de salon”, followed by the yearning, fantasy-like “Aria” of Latvian-Canadian composer Imant Raminsh. “Coming To” by Greek-Canadian composer Christos Hatzis awakens us out of the slumber, into a tapestry of childhood memories woven by George Enescu in “Impressions d’enfance”: a Romanian fiddler in the street, an old beggar, a lullaby, the lonely sounds of a cricket, a storm raging through the windowpane in the middle of the night, and finally an apocalyptic sunrise where the light emerges, blinding and victorious.



S. RACHMANINOV (1873-1943)
2 Morceaux de salon, Op. 6

C. HATZIS (né en 1953)
Coming To

G. ENESCU (1881-1955)
Impressions d’enfance, Op. 28

*JM Canada reserves the right to modify the repertoire without prior notice.

Online brochure
  • Brochure Digital Ballads 23-24