Le piano romantique




This program captures the scope of piano writing in the 19th century, from the delicacy of Schubert’s “Moments musicaux” to the fantastical and frightening characters of Schumann’s “Kreisleriana”. The ultimate virtuosic pianist, Franz Liszt, pulls out all the stops with his brilliant “La Campanella” étude, and the program ends with a nod to Chopin by Alexander Scriabin and his Prélude and Nocturne for the left hand.



F. SCHUBERT (1797-1828)
Moments musicaux, Op. 94, No. 3, D.780

F. LISZT (1811-1886)
Grandes études de Paganini, S. 141
III. La Campanella

A. SCRIABIN (1871-1915)
Prélude et nocturne pour la main gauche, Op. 9, No. 2



Meagan Milatz, pianist, is quickly emerging as one of the most sought-after collaborative artists in the country. She regularly performs with top international musicians including Andrew Wan, concertmaster of the Montreal Symphony Orchestra; Stefan Dohr, Principal Horn of the Berlin Philharmonic; and cellist Matt Haimovitz. Chamber music highlights from 2022 include performances with Cho-Liang Lin, Peter Hanson, Mark Fewer, Pablo Hernán Benedí, Steven Dann, and tubist Øystein Baadsvik, among others. In May 2022, she appeared in concert in Spain with Kai Gleusteen, concertmaster of the Orchestra del Gran Teatre del Liceu of Barcelona. Her duo “meagan&amy” with violinist Amy Hillis launched onto the scene in 2019 with a 50-concert, Canada-wide tour as winners of the first-ever Pan-Canadian Partnership Recital Tour offered by Jeunesses Musicales Canada, Debut Atlantic, and Prairie Debut. Meagan has also appeared as soloist alongside orchestras such as the Edmonton, Regina, Sherbrooke, and McGill Symphonies. She was top prize winner in the Shean Piano Competition, CFMTA National Piano Competition, and Canadian Music Competition as well as a recipient of a Sylva Gelber Music Foundation Award. She is grateful to her teachers Cherith Alexander, Ilya Poletaev, Tom Beghin, and Philip Chiu. | www.meaganmilatz.com

*JM Canada reserves the right to modify the repertoire without prior notice.

Online brochure
  • Brochure Digital Ballads 23-24