Made in trio, Imprints

David Dias da Silva introduces us to his Made in Trio ensemble, in which he is joined by Portuguese flutist Rute Fernandes and Italian pianist Sinforosa Petralia. First Prize winners at the Marianne und Curt Dienemann-Stiftung Competition in Switzerland and the International Chamber Music Competition in Italy, Made in Trio now brings us their winning blend of popular and folk music with Imprints.



David Dias da Silva, clarinet
Rute Fernandes, flute
Sinforosa Petralia, piano



C.DEBUSSY (1862-1918)
Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun (originally for orchestra, trio version)

N.ROTA (1911-1979)
Trio for Flute, Violin, and Piano (adapted for clarinet)

F.MARTIN (1890-1974)
Trio on Irish Folk Tunes (originally for violin, cello, and piano)



Born in Montréal, Canada, and raised in a Portuguese family, David studied at the Escola Profissional de Música de Viana do Castelo and at the Escola Superior de Música e Artes do Espetáculo in Porto, with professors Iva Barbosa and Antonio Saiote. He has earned a Master’s degree in performance and a Soloist Diploma from the Musik Akademie der Stadt Basel under the tutelage of François Benda, and an Artist Diploma from McGill University’s Schulich School of Music in Montréal, in the clarinet classes of Jean-François Normand and Alain Desgagné.

A grand prize winner of both the Prix d’Europe and the Canadian Music Competition’s Stepping Stone in 2016, he has also won first prizes at the Kiefer Hablitzel Competition (Switzerland), the International Young Artist Competition (Canada), the Terras de La
Salette Competition (Portugal), and second prize at the Concours National d’Exécution Musicale (Switzerland), among others.

He was a member of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada and had a contract position as principal clarinet with the Sinfonieorchester Basel. He is a clarinetist in the Orquestra de Câmara Portuguesa in Lisbon and holds the co-principal clarinet position in the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra.

Online brochures
  • Brochure Young Audience 23-24
  • Brochure Digital Ballads 23-24